KDramaArt

I just came to the sad realization that I have committed  what I consider to be a cardinal  Kdrama  blogging sin; I have never posted a top ten sageuk list to share with my readers. Today I will  correct this misdeed to the best of my ability.

10).Queen Seon Deok

I loved this drama because of one villain named Mishil , the heroine  Seon Deok was pretty awesome but the formidable Mishil was in a league of her own. A woman who could keep husband and lovers working together to achieve her goals and a whole country under her thumb  all before breakfast, now that is a woman worth watching.Please check out the scene where she makes beautiful music using glasses while she plots murder and mayhem ,it is a scene totally worthy of the godfather trilogy.

queen seon
The Villain who kept viewers guessing and our heroine on her toes

9.Warrior Baek Dong Soo

Sageuk dramas have heroes who seem to have perpetually bad hair days thus the good hair in this sageuk was a pleasant change. The cute actors and the strong story line  are also guaranteed to keep your attention..

our heroes had good hair days everyday!
our heroes had good hair days everyday!
  1. Lee Jun Ki’s Iljimae

I love Lee Jun Ki’s acting he is the only actor I have ever come across within the Kdrama universe who can manage to keep you laughing while he maintains a perfectly serious demeanor, check out Arang and the magistrate if you do not believe me.

Lee Jun Ki and his special brand of comedy and heroism will keep you riveted
Lee Jun Ki and his special brand of comedy and heroism will keep you riveted
  1. Tree with deep roots

I loved this drama because of Kang Chae Hyun (Jang Hyuk) and King Sejong, the great (Han Suk Kyu) anyone who can play a king and a human being so impressively gets my thumbs up. Kings in sageuks are rarely nice people so this one was a welcome change. This sageuk has plenty of action and mystery as well as some very compelling conflicts. I just loved it.

The best sageuk king ever and of course my hero Jang Hyuk ensure that this is a must watch for any sageuk beginner
The best sageuk king ever and of course my hero Jang Hyuk ensure that this is a must watch for any sageuk beginner
  1. Chuno

Again another Jang Hyuk drama as you can tell by now I am quite the fan, he is one of the few actors who can cause me to break away from a sageuk in order to watch a modern K-drama (not a great fan of those). Jang Hyuk’s acting is awesome in this and disgusting sometimes, look out for the scene where he cries with food in his mouth, moving but also pretty gross! One blogger labeled this drama,a literal feast and boy was she right.

Jang Hyuk is in it,do I need to say more
Jang Hyuk is in it,do I need to say more
  1. Jumong

Song II gook is just great in this epic drama about a prince who founded a dynasty, I totally loved his martial arts skills and the supporting cast was equally awesome,this sageuk had just the right blend of comedy, romance and action for everyone.

jumong banner

  1. Kingdom of the winds

Just when I thought Jumong was awesome, I crashed straight into Song II Gook playing his own grandson, oops ! I mean Jumong’s grandson in the follow up epic drama to his already epic drama. Am I making sense here?

kingdom banner

  1. Dae Jang Geum

This  drama  introduced me to the world of sageuk and I have never looked back since. The drama helped me appreciate how much Korean Society values excellence as well as a meticulous approach to detail. The food presentations in this drama were awesome and I appreciated the romance without the aggressive sexuality that is so commonly seen on TV.

My introduction to the world of sageuk and the concept of Korean perfectionism
My introduction to the world of sageuk and the concept of Korean perfectionism
  1. Yi San

This drama was such a success here in Kenya , I think it was aired annually on GBS due to popular demand, good acting, plenty of action, plenty of romance and of course Lee Seo Jin’s sunshine smile helped bring  great popularity to this lovely story.

Yi san was the perfect blend of court intrigues,adventure and romance.
Yi san was the perfect blend of court intrigues,adventure and romance.
  1. Dong Yi

A slave girl who attracts the attention of the king, throw in a jealous concubine and a few power hungry ministers and you have the perfect sageuk right there. The theme song is also great I still have it on my phone to this day. This drama is like my comfort food when I feel down I just watch the reruns, the bliss of it.

dong yi banner

